Friday: I’ve been lookin’ for ya.


Hello there ‘Cac. It’s been a while. Allow me, Low Cal, to reintroduce myself.  I’ve got a few things bumpin’ around in this brain of mine.

First of all, Mylo Xyloto. I haven’t finished listening to the whole album yet. I don’t have a verdict. Yet, I was impressed by the live version of “Charlie Brown” from Glastonbury, at least musically, not lyrically. I think nonsensical lyrical jibberish works much better if you’re say, the Beatles singing “Everybody’s Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey”, or if you’re Cupid Valentino (bonus points if you figure that one out… SANS GOOGLE). I just don’t know how “scarecrow dreams,” could “smash my heart into smithereens.” I don’t think I’m supposed to know how scarecrow dreams work. I think I’m just supposed to listen and bop my head around to the pleasant melody. Other notable songs:

1) “Life is For Living (Live from Glastonbury)” I like this pleasant revamp of the ending of Everything’s Not Lost.

2) “Paradise” The orchestral lines of this song are nice. Of course the sweeping chorus, which is decidedly Coldplay’s thing, is nice too. I don’t know what the wheel breaks the butterfly means. I don’t think Chris Martin does either. If I had to pick a Coldplay song about being disillusioned, I would choose either “I Ran Away”, or “Don’t Panic”, but “Paradise” will do.

If you’re not a Coldplay fan, or even if you are, give these other songs a listen. I promise you’ll be bumpin’ during that last minute study sesh in the library.

Why this song was not released as a part of Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty is beyond me. It would have been one of the highlights of the album.

Other notable Sir Lucious tracks:

1) “Daddy Fat Sax”

2) “Shine Blockas (Feat. Gucci Mane)”

3) “You Ain’t No DJ (Feat. Yelawolf)”

Clearly, Big Boi is the underrated half of the OutKast duo. Of course André 3000 is fabulous, but so is Big Boi. Keep rockin’ General Patton.

If library dance parties aren’t your thing (they should be…. can you say STRESS RELIEF?),  you can always study while listening to the following mellow options:

1) “In An Aeroplane Over the Sea”- Neutral Milk Hotel

2)  “The Drying of the Lawns”- The Tallest Man on Earth

3) “Engine Driver”- The Decemberists

PHEW. I’m done here. You should be too. Get back to work.

Long live Club Schow, Sawyer, Tisch, (insert your library here),

Low Cal

Leave a Reply

