#facebookproblems


Today was a big day: I relinquished my rights to facebook and am on an indefinite break from what some may call an “unhealthy relationship.”

This evening, I had my youngest sister change my facebook password so I am essentially locked out of the bottomless black hole that is the ‘book. Since approximately 6:45 PM EST, I have attempted to log into facebook around 10-15 times (eventually realizing that it might be beneficial to change my homepage from facebook.com to something more mundane, such as google) because let’s be real. I’m a huge facebook creep and I can’t help myself from stalking all my “friends'” status updates and muploads from last weekend.

With the final weeks of classes quickly approaching and finals week racing towards us ‘Cac-ers, I figured I might as well stop wasting my life facebooking and try to enjoy my Thanksgiving break and Turkey Day like I know best: drinking (and fighting) with the fam, spending mommy and daddy’s hard earned money, and eating massive amounts of home cooked food (this is yet to be seen at my household).

Anyway, the reasons behind this RADICAL change in lifestyle go beyond my nerd-dom and my incessant (and sometimes compulsive) need to constantly be working and/or studying. I realized that every time I go on the internet I find myself surfing my newsfeed for ~10 minutes before I remind myself that I went on my computer to actually do something… or did I?…

These lapses in time started to accumulate, and they became progressively longer, until I legitimately was facebooking like a fat kid eats: compulsively and without any self-control. I then asked myself this afternoon, “What exactly am I doing with my life?” as I’m sure many ‘Cac-ers do. Enough was enough, I said as I was putting the finishing touches on my neuropsychology paper at the dining table. I bbm-ed my sister from the kitchen (of course, she was a floor away in her bedroom. Funny how technology has led us down such a solitary road…) and made an executive decision. I wirelessly-uttered those 3 words via bbm: CHANGE MY PASSWORD.

And so it was done.

To Mark Zuckerberg, I have this to say:

It isn’t you, It’s me. We had a good run and I’ll always remember all the good times we had. We just need some time apart. I need to figure my ish out, you know?  I still want to be friends…

And so, as of tonight I am officially off facebook.

… We’ll see how long this lasts. #facebookproblems

Leave a Reply

