ATTACK OF THE MEMES!


It’s finals week. You know what that means. Find any possible distraction to help avoid actually studying for finals. Most people resort to Hulu for a quick catchup on last week’s new episode of Community or maybe even a little Youtube action for some hilarious idiots who have even LESS of a life to have time to make up that crap.

I digress.

It happened last night. I was studying for my human neuropsychology exam when my mind started to wander (coincidentally, one of the topics I had to know for this morning’s exam… HAH) and my fingers found themselves typing “F-A-C-E-B-O-O-K” into the search browser.

My newsfeed popped up and a list of “similar posts” that all had to do with this one website appeared: quickmeme.com. Within this link was embedded “Hamilton Hypocrite” (see http://www.quickmeme.com/Hamilton-Hypocrite/?upcoming for all the amazing sarcasm, irony, and hypocrisy). All the posts were relatively intriguing, so I had to check it out. I clicked the link and up popped a couple of these “memes” (e.g., LOLcats).

Side note: for those of you who aren’t familiar with the term meme I am here to help since I learned all about them in my evolution and human behavior psych elective last semester! Defined as “the basic unit of culture transmission, or imitation” or “an element of culture that may be considered to be passed on by non-genetic means,” memes are essentially ideas that are transferred from one person to another (e.g., via the internet) and the evolve by imitation or mutation if we want to get biological. They are analogous to genes in that they “self-replicate, mutate, and respond to selective pressures” much like natural selection (THANKS M.J. FREDERICK, my ev psych professor, and WIKIPEDIA!).

So this morning I wake up and there are even more of these meme-related facebook posts. Last night when I spotted this absurd trend on facebook, there was a single page. That page grew to 6 pages. That was as of midnight last night.

I did some research and discovered that as of this morning at 11 am there are now 21 pages of these ridiculous meme creations. Goes to show you how much time Hamilton College students really have on their hands during finals… or maybe the lack-of?

I have also realized that these Hamilton-related meme creations are very insightful to the inner-workings of the culture here, and so I thought I’d share some of them here…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All I can say is, the Hamilton community has quite a lot of time on their hands during finals week.

3 thoughts on “ATTACK OF THE MEMES!

Leave a Reply

