1st Annual Blackinthe’Cacmas: The Plight of the Non-‘Cac World


Season’s Greetings and a Merry ChrismaHanaKwanza’Cac to all.

This winter break has been quite interesting. I am in DC for Christmas and my family here are great. My uncle, my mother’s brother, his wife and two baby girls are precious but they are far from ‘Cac life.

I didn’t realize how used to ‘Cac/college life I was until I came here for break. My uncle didn’t have Google Chrome or Spotify. No one talked about Occupy, social inequalities, I haven’t heard: systemic, problematic, discourse, framework, or rhetoric is what feels like years. However, the constant inquiries about Tufts and in what league are we were prevalent. Also, there is some suble shade being thrown about the ‘Cac, several “oh my niece or family friend or grandson applied to Tufts but when to Harvard or Darthmouth etc instead.” Thanks for being rude. IntheCac or die, please. Today at dinner I had to defend going to school in Boston, as if that was hard.

A particular highlight are my two babies cousins.

The older one, M, is Blair Waldorf Jackson, (oh btw, my uncle and family are like the Afro-1% ). She is going to marry a count yet run her own Fortune 500 company and the free world. She is smart as a whip, super logical and endearing when not screaming her little head off. She was apprehensive of me for the first 5 years of her life (she is 9 years old so liking me is new). The other is literally me as a little girl; she is sassy, swagtastic, and moody. Either way they both are wearing me OUT.

In ‘Cac culture, going to bed at a reasonable hour is unheard of even on vacation nights. However waking up by 9 am is causal for these children, they are up and spry and running round upstairs. The first night I was up until 5 or so catching up on my extensive Hulu queue and I barely get one cycle in when “Cousin JJ, its time to get up!” I, then, feel 50 pounds of baby human jumping on my back. After stumbling out of bed like the day after the Zeta Box Wine Party,  I make it upstairs to my uncle, aunt, and two grandma’s all bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. Then the daily request start.

1) Can we take pictures?

There are probably 100 just like these

2) Can we watch The Annoying Orange:


The Least Annoying Annoying Orange3) Just Dance on Wii

Screen Shot from Just Dance

Not to mention every possible kids movie every made (currently watching Mary Poppins). They, however, aren’t the worst. The high society Christmas guests are the true issue. Some random family/ work friends came over and I got asked How’s Tufts? literally once an hour on the hour. As if my answer would change. The worst was the “look how big/fat/old you’ve gotten” comments. I know you haven’t seen me since I was 10, get over it. Then there was the what are you going to do with sociology question. I said pre-law because explaining that I want to advocate for LGBT rights isn’t riveting dinner conversation. After being curt enough the questions finally stopped and my Grandma just started speaking for me. Love her. Sort of. She is old fashion and thinks I’m hiding a white girlfriend at school. I’m not, for a few reasons. (GAY AS THE EGGNOG ON CHRISTMAS, for one). Little does she know, my gay uncle and his white husband are coming tomorrow. So BOOM this holiday season is gonna go for drab to fab in 24 hours. I’m also seeing my tres chic cousin (like 3rd cousin closest to me in age) tomorrow and she is gonna take me to hookah, thank jesus.

So ready for this break to be kickstarted cause family drama makes for the best tweets.

Speaking of which, follow me on twitter as I live tweet my BlackInThe’Cacmas @jayydodd

One thought on “1st Annual Blackinthe’Cacmas: The Plight of the Non-‘Cac World

Leave a Reply

